Turner’s Tales – The Latest from Wendy Turner Webster

June 16, 2011 at 8:37 pm Leave a comment

We welcome the super Wendy Turner Webster who shares her latest news with us :O)

Turner’s Tales

Fred Olsen Cruise Cuisine – Worth Ditching The Diet For! 

I have recently returned from a 12 day trip on the high seas – courtesy of me giving a number of Guest Lectures on a Fred Olsen Iberian Cruise. My mum and I had a ball, not least because of the fabulous food on offer for vegetarians and vegans.

I hadn’t forewarned the ‘Boudicca’ ship of our dietary requirements and was therefore astonished when ‘vegan surprise’ after ‘vegan surprise’ was delivered to our table – in fact I don’t think I had the same meal twice! Special mentions must go to the Head Chef (Matheous Loos), the Maitre ‘d (Jefron Rodrigues) and our lovely waiter (Francis Gutierrez) for making the culinary side of our trip so fabulous.

It was such a refreshing change to find a chef that really put some thought into dairy and meat free dishes instead of churning out the usual ‘mixed salad, a plate of vegetables and a fruit salad’. Soya ice-cream and soya milk was always available (oh, the many eateries that could and should follow suit) and to give you some idea of the dishes we ate I’ve included some pictures below.

My Guest Lectures filled up some time during the days at sea and the talk titles were;

  • Pet Rescue – Filming with Animals!
  • Animal Defenders International – Some Really Wild Rescues.
  • The History & Work of TheBrookeHorseHospital.
  • Tales from The Mayhew Animal Home.

If you fancy taking to the waves more information can be found at www.fredolsencruises.com To book, go online, call Reservations on 01473 742424, or see your ABTA travel agent.

Pooches Galore at Chancepixies! 

On May Bank Holiday Monday I travelled to Doverto attend the Chancepixies open day and dog show. I am Patron of the dog rescue charity and was thrilled to be asked to judge one of the ‘novelty’ classes and to also pick out an overall Champion from the whole novelty section. But these things are never easy… I had to judge the class called Dog Which the Judge Would Most Like to Take Home – eek, I could have taken them all home!

Not only that but the class had a massive 33 entries. It was so difficult to whittle that number down to my top six but after lots of deliberation I finally did it and chose a winner plus the following top five. The victor was a beautiful border collie called Bailey – so handsome and gorgeous that I later made him the Champion of the novelty section.

I felt bad about all the other dogs as I truly loved them all and was grateful to the owners for attending a great day and supporting the wonderful Chancepixies charity. Some of their now rehomed rescue dogs came back for a visit and it was lovely to see them on fine form and loving their new lives with their new owners. The day raised a whopping £2,739.31. You can find out more about Chancepixies on their website – www.chancepixies.com

Animal Lifeline Raise Record Amount 

I am also a Patron of Animal Lifeline – a wonderful dog rescue centre in my home town of Stoke-on-Trent. Their recent open day was on my birthday – what better way to celebrate than to officially open the newly refurbished kennels!!!

The local newspaper – The Sentinel – came and gave us some fabulous coverage, as did the city’s new local radio station – 6 Towns Radio. The charity aimed to raise £1000 from the event but managed to more than double that amount (the cake stall seemed to be doing a roaring trade!).

I was given a beautiful bunch of flowers for my birthday (well, it’s not every day you celebrate your 30th!) and found bargains on the bric-a-brac stall in the form of a vase, place mats, a water jug and a candle – oh, I do love to rummage for a bargain.

As with Chancepixies a huge amount of dog owners took the opportunity to bring their beloved new pets back to see their former home, and it was wonderful to see both dogs and owners looking on such top form. Animal Lifeline always have lots of dogs of all shapes and sizes looking for a second chance – have a look at their web site at www.animallifeline.org.uk to find out more.

And Finally..

I’ve been tapping away at the keyboard, filling up my page on my sister’s web site – www.AntheaTurner.com

My Perfect Veggie Alternatives lists my favourite meat and dairy free products and there’s a section at the end for you to add to the items I’ve included or leave a comment – we’d love to hear from you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Begin to Eat Healthier – ASK THE NATURAL CHEF Vegan Kids – Alicia Silverstone Plans to Raise Her Son Vegan.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Veggie Vision

Veggie Vision

VeggieVision Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


